ABRT Women’s Elite Team Dominates MABRA in 2017 and Wins Two Masters Nationals Titles

The team of Captain Sue McQuiston, Ainhoa Perez-Diez and Dori Buckethal was a powerhouse duo or trio in most races in MABRA in 2017. They worked tirelessly as a team to set up one another, which kept the other teams guessing who would get the win on any particular day. In fact another team commented after yet another win that it was like ground hog day!

Ainhoa Perez-Diez (L) and Dori Buckethal (R) sporting their custom national championship jerseys.

At the Masters National Championships in June, Ainhoa and Dori won their criterium races, capping off a hugely successful spring racing season for the team.”Two of our Pactimo sponsored Elite Women’s teams won their Masters Criterium Championship races in June 2017. Ainhoa Perez-Diez (45+) and Dori Bucketful (35+). They also both also placed very well in the Road Race with Ainhoa 2nd (44+) and Dori 4th (35+). In addition, Ainhoa also placed well enough in the Time Trial to win the Best All Around (BAR) rider in the 45+ category.

To date this year in addition to their Nationals results, Ainhoa had eight wins, notably in the Jefferson Cup Road Race in Charlottesville, VA and the Navy Yard Criterium in Philadelphia against a very tough field, the MABRA 45+ Criterium Championships, the Giro del Cielo stage race (pro/1/2) and the Page Valley Road Race (1/2/3). Team Captain Sue McQuiston had nine wins including the MABRA 35+ Criterium Championship (and MABRA 35+ BAR) and Dori Buckethal had one win in addition to her National Championship.

We thank Pactimo for the great clothing sponsorship, we could not do it without the generous contribution to the Elite Women’s Team. The team has been especially happy with the women’s specific skinsuit designs as well as the custom stars and stripes and MABRA designs to celebrate their accomplishments.

2017 AACX Wrap Up

The 2017 Edition of the AACX at South River Farm brought an exciting, new and challenging course by adding a new hill section in the woods, siting the new run up from last year immediately out of a corner (no one rode it!) and reversing the course direction. A little rain on Friday also made the course much more challenging than in the past.

Elite Women on the Run Up

Lap times were about the same, but the grassy area slogs were greatly reduced. There were several exciting sprint finishes – remember to keep sprinting until the line and check to see if someone is right behind you before you sit up!

Men’s Cat 4/5 Finish

Thanks to everyone who came out to race and to all the volunteers who make the event happen, and to sponsors Parvilla Cycles, CryoAnnapolis, Bob’s Red Mill Natural Foods, SpeedSleev Products and vendors Acme Pie Co., 1562 Roastery and JavacruiserMoco.

Jeff Travis and Race Works Gruppetto and the USAC officials did a great job getting races started and scored on time. The 2017 Results are uploaded to USA Cycling and the Live Scored results by field are available on the Race Works Site and you can download a PDF file of the results with lap times.

Hope to see you all next year for an even better event.

Congratulations to 2016 ABRT MABRA Champions

ABRT had a very successful year in MABRA with a number of individual and Best All Around Rider (BAR) Champions. Congratulations for all the hard work to win these championships. As a reward for this hard work ABRT and Pactimo have produced a customized MABRA Championship jersey.

2016 Time Trial Champions:
M 15-16 Vincent Madaffari
W 17-18 Nicole Madaffari
W 35+ Sue McQuiston
W 45+ Ainhoa Perez-Diez

2016 Criterium Champion:
W 1/2/3 Sue McQuiston

BAR Champions:
M 15-16 Vincent Madaffari
W 17-18 Nicole Madaffari
W 35+ Sue McQuiston
W 45+ Ainhoa Perez-Diez

AACX Results

The 2016 edition of AACX at South River Farm was  a great success. We had nearly perfect weather and some new challenging feature to the course, notably the new “run up” that that challenged people to ride it successfully. Thanks to all who came out for the race and spread the word about the more interesting course for next year. Each year we make it even better. Full results with lap times from RaceWorksTiming.com: 2016 AACX Results. A big thanks to Race Director Iain Banks who worked tirelessly to put on the race. Also thanks to our partner Anne Arundel County Recreation and Parks for the use of the park and the help with course grooming – everyone needs access to a backhoe! – we couldn’t do it without them.

Ride or Run, that is the question of the day!

Ride or Run, that is the question of the day!

Mens 3/4 Race from Facebook “Live” – Who rides, who runs?! Traffic management is really key.

Congratulations to all of the winners!


Junior Girls 9-10 Podium


Junior Boys 11-12 Podium


Junior Boys 13-14 Podium


Junior Boys 15-18 Podium


Junior Girls 15-18 Podium


Mens 5 Podium


Mens 4/5 Podium


Womens 4 Podium


Womens 3/4 Podium


Womens 1/2/3 Podium


Womens 45+ Podium


Mens 3/4 Podium


Mens 45+ 3/4/5 Podium


Mens 35+ 1/2/3 Podium


Mens 45+ 1/2/3 Podium

See more on our Facebook page!

A Hat Trick Weekend for the Women’s Elite Team

The ABRT Women’s Elite Team score three first place podium spots at two different events this past weekend. Well done ladies!

Becky Chan wins the Somerdale Tour, De Fish in New Jersey.

Becky Chan wins the Somerdale Tour De Fish in New Jersey with Dori Buckethal in third.

Sue McQuiston wins the 35+ at the Shenandoah TT.

Sue McQuiston wins the 35+ at the Shenandoah TT.

Ainhoa Perez-Diez wins the 45+ at the Shenandoah TT.

Ainhoa Perez-Diez wins the 45+ at the Shenandoah TT.

Elite Women go 1-3-5 at Ride Sally Ride

All Images except the podium are courtesy of Dominion Cycling Photograpy (website | Facebook)

Ainhoa Perez Diez

She is at it again… Ainhoa Perez Diez in one of her many attacks.

Dori Buckethal

Riding down the leader. Dori Buckethal with National Capital Velo Club’s Alexis Zink.

Becky Chan in the final sprint!

Becky Chan in the final sprint!


The Podium (L to R): 4th – Rebecca Ivins (1 – Cat3), 2nd – Michele Scherer (1 – Cat1), 1st- Dori Buckethal (1 – Cat2), 3rd – Rebecca Chan (2 – Cat2), 5th – Ainhoa Perez-Diez (2 – Cat1)

Church Creek Time Trial Results

Thanks to all who braved the weather today to make it out to the Time Trial. True to the spring we have been having, the rain began in ernest at about race time and came down hard for the next 3 hours. But the officials did a great job of getting everyone off on time and reports were that riders warmed up a lot once underway.

Results are available at USA Cycling

Waiting for the start.

Waiting for the start of the 20k TT.


Lined up at the start tent.

Great pictures by Robert Taylor from OVC:

CCTT Final

You can really hear how hard it was raining in this video!


Great Day for ABRT at Carl Dolan

ABRT took the top spots in the Women’s 1/2/3 and the Masters 35+. Dorian Buckethal won the Women’s 1/2/3 from a field sprint with ABRT’s Ainhoa Perez-Diez close behind in 2nd and Becky Chan in 4th. In the Men’s 35+ Pat Hogan won the sprint from a break of four that also contained ABRT’s best all arounder Ace McDermott who helped drive the break to the end and finished 5th as the main group came charging in.


Pat Hogan takes the sprint in the Men’s Masters 35+


Men's Master 35+ Podium

Men’s Master 35+ Podium


Women's 1/2/3 Podium.

Women’s 1/2/3 Podium.